h1

Design stuff

October 20, 2008

I’ve been slacking off on the blog. Time to get back to that.

Anyways, I’ve been thinking a lot recently about what I can do to make some extra cash on the side, while not spending way too much time on it – my other thought, why not try and make some money off some stuff I’ve designed?

Some things that come to mind – specifically, I started building a second copy of the lamp I designed last year, with plans to get that up on my website – which still needs work too. I’ve been designing a clock which should be a pretty sweet addition to a portfolio once its finished, but it just needs a lot more work. Over fall break, I spent a large amount of time practicing my screenprinting skills, as well as learning more about vector art in general, some tips and whatever. I’d love to get some t-shirt design stuff done to the point of being able to make some money off of it, I think that’d be fun and cool too.

The other thing I’ve been thinking of doing is getting into the ‘web 2.0’ of design – for instance:

http://shirt.woot.com –  Woot does shirts. A new shirt every day, with popular ones sticking around until they fall off the list. Every week, they hold a contest to get user submitted designs on a specific theme, which they run on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Winner gets $1000, plus $2 per shirt sold after the first day. Not bad.

Also, I just stumbled upon http://www.ryzwear.com/ – similar concept, only it appears in smaller numbers, with shoes. Interesting…

I really should get going and do some cool stuff. Instead of sitting around here thinking about it.

-Bryan

2 comments

  1. Update Update Update!!!


  2. Bryan = awesome. whoa.

    Why do I have to install Drupal to view your website?
    Fix that!



Leave a Reply

